Youth Courses

The RYA courses are run by ASCSS instructors from the David Woodhead Centre in Bristol.

The course duration is 16 hour and is typically run over one weekend from 9 till 5 both days.

There will be a maximum of 6 students per instructor and our course is intended for 10 to 17 years olds.

The course provides both on the water tuition, generally in Toppers and Picos, and off the water

 tuition in a classroom at Pooles Wharf.

The course may be physically quite demanding, especially for younger students, as they usually have a boat each.

Students should be able to swim and be confident in water, however buoyancy aids are provided for all students.

Certificates for successful students are included in the price.

Further information and details are provided during booking.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the Chief Instructor.

  STAGE 1
  STAGE 2
  STAGE 3
  STAGE 4
  START RACING

rya2 

Introductory Evenings

Mike Edney
0797 110 9217

intro@ascss.org.uk

Chief Sailing Instructor

Fenella Clutten
0779 042 9743
fenella@ascss.org.uk

RYA Courses

Fenella Clutten
0779 042 9743

courses@ascss.org.uk

Commodore

Paul Breakey
07944 896 089

paul@ascss.org.uk

 

Club Night Tuesday

Michael Carr
0792 972 8411
michael.carr@ascss.org.uk

Principal

Mike Edney
0797 110 9217

mike@ascss.org.uk

 

Chew Valley

Tony Clutten
0752 522 4521
chew@ascss.org.uk